News / 34


The Provinces of the Colony of New Zealand existed from 1841 until 1876 as a form of sub-national government. Each province had its own legislature and was built around the six original planned settlements, or ‘colonies’. They were replaced by counties, which in turn were replaced by districts.

The 487 records in this collection contain details of the officers employed by various provincial governments in New Zealand in 1866. They contain details of their employment with various provincial governments in New Zealand, including their job title, date of appointment and salary details.